Previous Winners

Buick Open Winners

Brian Bateman Buick Open Golf Winner

Since 1981 when Hale Irwin won the Buick Open, there have been many legendary Buick Open winners.

Buick Open Winners in the 2000s

Kenny Perry

2008 Buick Open winner, Kenny Perry won the event for a second time ( he won the Buick Open golf tournament in 2001). Perry managed to finish ahead of crowd favourites Bubba Watson and Woody Austin.

Brian Bateman

Winner of the 2007 Buick Open was the American Brian Bateman. His odds of winning were significantly increased when both previous winners, Tiger Woods and Vijay Singh, dropped out of the tournament.

Tiger Woods

In 2006, Tiger Woods, the most highly paid professional athlete in the world, won the Buick Open. He has been PGA Tour Player of the Year eight times and is the only active golfer in the top 10 in career major wins (2nd) and career PGA Tour wins (5th). He was also the winner of the 2002 Buick Open.

Vijay Singh

Another famous Buick Open winner is Fijian Vijay Singh who won in two consecutive years (2004 and 2005), as well as in 1997. Singh is the only golfer to have won the Buick Open three times. He was number one in the Official World Golf Rankings for 32 weeks in 2004 and 2005. He was also leading PGA Tour money winner in 2003 and 2004, and was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2006.

Other Winners

Other Buick Open winners include Jim Furyk in 2003, known for his unconventional, looping golf swing, Kenny Perry in 2001, and Rocco Mediate in 2000. Mediate is known for being the first player to win on the PGA Tour using a long putter when he won the Doral-Ryder Open in 1991.

Buick Open Winners in the 1990s

Previous winners of the 90s include:

  • Tom Pernice Jr, who won in 1999
  • Billy Mayfair (1998), famed for being the only player ever to beat Tiger Woods in a playoff on the PGA Tour (1998 Nissan Open)
  • Justin Leonard (1996)
  • Woody Austin (1995)
  • Fred Couples (1994), former World Number One
  • Larry Mize (1993)
  • Dan Forsman (1992)
  • Brad Faxon (1991), who has a reputation as for being one of the best pure putters in golf history
  • Chip Beck (1990), famed for shooting the first hole-in-one in Nationwide Tour history at the par-49th hole in the first round of the 2003 Omaha Classic

In the 1980s, Buick Open winners included Leonard Thompson (1989), Scott Verplank (1988), Robert Wrenn (1897) – known for establishing the tournament record of 262 (26-under-par), Ben Crenshaw (1986), Ken Green (1985), Denis Watson (1984), Wayne Levi (1983), Lanny Wadkins (1982) and Hale Irwin (1981), who was inducted into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1992.

For detailed information on your favourite Buick Open winners and golf heroes, click here.